Home » Crafts » Easy custom canvas art

Easy custom canvas art

We’ve always rented. Be it a flat or house, but it we have always been tenants, never owners. So I neer before drilled holes in walls to hang artwork or plates or other knickknacks. I tried to use whatever nails or screws were already in the walls let by previous tenants etc. Until November 2010. We found a property, drew up some plans and built a house. Now I get to drill holes. Now I also get to buy paintings or prints that I like with the aim to hang them where I would like them to be.

So we come to a blank wall in our en suite bathroom. The theme I aimed for is rustic afro french (is that even a style?). But some days it looks like the lost and found bin at water world with all the toys around the bath. Needless, I still have an idea of neutral colours with some filigree and a bit of a Victorian feel.

After visiting a friend who had transformed her old store-bought canvas art into stylish custom wall art, I decided to give it a go, al la Tracy.

Here’s what I used:

You will need

  • 3 x  A4 plain canvasses @ R30 from Le Mar craft shop.
  • Iron on transfers – I got mine from Waltons @ R130-ish for 10 A4 sheets
  • staple gun
  • Calico fabric
  • And some source pics. I bought my mermaids from Narry on etsy

Place your canvas on the fabric. Fit it so that the edges fold over far enough so that they can be stapled to the back. Cut fabric to size.

Print your images on iron on transfer paper. Follow manufacturer’s instructions on how to iron it onto the fabric. **Remember to print images as mirrored! Especially important if there is any text involved.

Make sure the image on the fabric is centered before you start stapling. Start in the middle of a side, then pull the opposite side taught and staple.

I don’t know how to make the corners neat at the back, so I leave that up to you. Now just find the perfect spot to hang them.

I used some grey satin ribbon on the landscape canvas. Still have to finish it up with a bow. I put a little bit of Prestic on the bottom of the canvas just to help stay in place on the wall. These canvasses are so light, they’ll hang crooked easily.

Link Parties! + Get your craft on Tuesdays

Leave a Reply

