Home » Crafts » Easy knitted monster – mini Tutorial

Easy knitted monster – mini Tutorial

I was sorting out some crap supplies in the garage and came across leftover wool from a bath mat I knitted yonks ago.  It’s a dark-brown’ish shade and I immediately thought of Domo-kun. Remember this little guy? I never watched the episodes, but saw his images on just about every message board and forum I lurked.

I am not a seamstress, nor an avid knitter, I just like to fiddle around a bit with different crafts and hobbies. I didn’t have a pattern and I didn’t want to make the same mouth. I googled for some more ideas and am in love with these. I didn’t want to stuff the legs, but wanted more of a shelf sitter monster. Lastly I simply love the simplicity of garter stitch (every row is kit – no purl in sight!). Doesn’t matter which side is front and it fills out nicely when stuffed.

Wish i'd thought of this earlier

{ Learn from my fail}   Only after I knitted the arms did I figure out to cast on the appendage sets simultaneously. No need to keep track of how many stitches or rows to duplicate.

You will need:

  • At most 1 ball of double knit yarn/wool/plarn
  • Nr 5 knitting needles and darning needle
  • White felt and matching thread
  • Assortment of buttons for face. (I used 2 big black and 4 small white)
  • Stuffing (like teddy bear stuffing or foam off cuts. Heck, you can even use old newspaper)

You are going to knit in garter stitch:
  • 1 Body – 18 stitches x 80 rows
  • 2 Arms to be stuffed – 16 stitches x 22 rows
  • 2 Legs – 9 stitches x 46 rows
  • 2 ears – 7 stitches by 10 rows
  • Leave long’ish pieces of yarn for sewing the pieces together.

Making the monster: Having no clue how to do this correctly, I’ll just share the basics:

  • Fold the arms in half as pictured above.
  • Sew one short side and long side of the arm shut (I used an over hand stitch). Turn inside out.
  • Stuff the arms then pin in place on body (Remember that you’re going to turn the body inside out, so use your savvy when pinning the arms… Yes, I did it wrong the first time too)
  • Fold the body in half as pictured above and sew the two long sides closed. Turn inside out and stuff.
  • Pin legs to the bottom of body and sew shut. Seeing as it’s a very textured knit and you can’t actually see the sewing yarn, I used overhand stitch again. I’m not very good with invisible stitches anyway.
  • You’re going to have to play around with where you want the ears to be. Sew them to the head/body
  • Sew two large, black buttons for eyes. Sew 2 smaller white buttons on each leg for toes. Cut a mouth from felt and sew in place.
  • Ta Da!
Gedroggie!
Princess *loves* her little monster. We named it Gedroggie – roughly means little monster in Afrikaans.
Oooh, almost forgot!  This knitting or crochet of small stuffed animals is called Amigurumi. The word is derived from a combination of the Japanese words ami, meaning crocheted or knitted, and nuigurumi, meaning stuffed doll.  So sayeth the wiki!

Gedroggie

 

 Link Parties!

4 thoughts on “Easy knitted monster – mini Tutorial

  1. It’s my first time to knit and this is gonna be my first project. Thank you for the detailed tutorial. 🙂

    • Good luck with your first project Maria!
      Have you checked out Ravelry.com yet? It’s full of patterns and tutorials and a great community of yarn enthusiasts.

      • I just checked Ravelry.com and I made an account already. Thanks for telling me about it! But I’m still working on reading the patterns. Still a beginner 🙂 Thank you again!

Leave a Reply

